Instagram has rolled out a new feature called Recently Deleted, to help users manage their content, as they will be able to review and restore deleted content in the Instagram app. The company has also introduced protections to help prevent hackers from compromising accounts and deleting shared posts.
Instagram says that it will ask users to verify themselves as their accounts’ rightful owners when permanently deleting or restoring content from Recently Deleted.
The way the Recently Deleted feature works is that content including photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos, and stories that a user deletes will be removed from their account immediately and moved to the Recently Deleted folder. In that folder, deleted stories that are not in the archive will stay for up to 24 hours, while other content will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
The deleted content within the Recently Deleted folder can be accessed during those 30 days and can be restored or permanently deleted. The folder can be found in account settings.